Dog professionals and owners alike have been fighting the cruel trade of puppy farming for decades and yet it still grows.  In  modern times, the power of celebrity has helped many causes and Pup Aid drew huge crowds and major celebrities at this years event yesterday in Primrose Hill, London. Hear me interview Brian May, Rob Alleyne and a host of others.

See the official video and hear Debbie Connolly and her BBC Dog Borstal Colleague Rob Alleyne talking about responsible ownership
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v-rEfgx7fv0

Created by TV vet Marc Abraham, it bring together owners, celebrities, businesses and more in a fun filled day.  Poignant moments like the parade of the ex puppy farmed bitches bring a tear and fun classes like best trick show the range of ownership and attitude in dogs and people.

Having been in Parliament with Marc on Thursday, it was a busy week and I was judging best pedigree. On behalf of my podcasts The Dog News Show I did a few interviews as my co-host  Julie Hill could not be there.

My coup of the day was Brian May, who I have spoken to before who gave me a brilliant interview about his interest and campaigning for animal welfare and I had to ask about THAT jacket he wore at the Olympics.

My Dog Borstal TV colleague Rob Alleyne  gave me an interview about the show and puppy farming from a behaviour perspective and he certainly has some interesting ideas about how to stop it. I also interviewed tireless compere Annabel Giles about her support.

I interviewed Marc who had a huge grin on his face as by then extra celebrities like Ricky Gervaise and Liam Gallagher had dropped by specially.  The buzz was in the waiting for Girls Aloud singer Sarah Harding who arrived to judge.

I’ll put up the interviews here as soon as possible once edited, they will also be available on our The Dog News Show special.

http://www.pupaid.org/

http://www.save-me.org.uk/

A special mention for Pup Aid co director Stuart Vernon whose tireless work makes this all happen.  Well done to every owner, dog, trader and celebrity that made it happen.

Full story soon.

About safepets uk

Pet training and behaviour company treating cats, dogs and livestock. Range of free advice on website. Covering Midlands to London. Training and behaviour advisers to Pet Education Trust.

Leave a Reply

